## The History of Morice Town

Sir William Morice, High Sheriff of Devon and MP in the 1654 'Protectorate' Parliament, bought the Manor of Stoke Damerel and Mount Wise House from Edward Wise for £11,050 in 1667.

He was instrumental in the restoration of King Charles II and was present at the laying of the foundation stone for the Royal Citadel on Plymouth Hoe. His grandson Sir Nicholas Morice leased land to the Board of Ordnance to build the Royal Victualling Yard at Mount Wise in 1718. It was this 'Morice' who gave his name to the new town in the Parish of Stoke Damerel, that was built to provide homes for the workers in the newly expanding dock yard.

The first school bearing the Morice name came into existence as the Morice Town Board School in 1894. This school was re-named Morice Town Elementary School on June 1st 1903, following the 1902 Education Act, and was sited at the bottom of Charlotte Street (within the existing dockyard wall). It remained a part of the Devonport Board of Education until 1914 which merged to become the Plymouth Education Committee (Devonport combined with the towns of Plymouth and Stonehouse that year). In 1940 the blitz destroyed the original building and the school was housed in the former Devonport High School for Boys next to St Michael's Church Hall on Albert Rd. The primary school came into existence on April 1st 1945 and a new school building opened in 1963 on the current site, once again, within Charlotte Street.

## **Heads of the School**

- 1903 Rev W Mantle Manager appointed by the Education Board
- 1903 Mr W Moon Manager appointed by the Education Board
- 1903-1935 Unnknown
- 1935 Mr F J Dunn Headmaster of Boys' School
- 1935 Miss A Boxall Headmistress of Girls' School
- 1935 Miss E R Beare Headmistress of Infants' School
- 1945-1955 Mr F J Dunn Headmaster of Primary School
- 1956- 1969 Mr D D Humphreys Headmaster
- 1969 Mr D Bennett Acting Headmaster
- 1970-1988 Mr P Robinson Headmaster
- 1989-1990 Mr B Hayden Acting Headmaster
- 1990-2003 Mr J O'Donoghue Headmaster
- 2003- 2015 Mr D V Maddison Headteacher
- 2015-2016 Mr G Wood Acting Headteacher
- 2016-2017 Mr L Rounce Headteacher
- 2018 Miss J Murphy Interim Executive Headteacher
- September 2018 Mr J Roberts Executive Headteacher